Press Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Atlanta City Council Member Antonio Brown to Present Mural Honoring Joseph E. Boone, Ivory Lee Young Jr. and District 3 Residents Monday, January 27

Post Date:01/23/2020 4:35 PM

Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave. SW
Atlanta, GA 30303

January 23, 2020 

Atlanta City Council Member Antonio Brown to Present Mural Honoring Joseph E. Boone, Ivory Lee Young Jr. and District 3 Residents Monday, January 27 

ATLANTA — Council member Antonio Brown will present a mural honoring the Rev. Joseph E. Boone, former Council member Ivory Lee Young Jr. and District 3 residents during an event Monday, January 27 at 11 a.m. at 537 Joseph E. Boone Boulevard.

“This mural is a beautification project for our community that’s aimed at providing a strong sense of pride and inspiration in our district,” Brown said. “When people walk by and see this, I know they will feel more hopeful and empowered. Although this is a distressed area, it’s clear that when we work together and feel optimistic about the future, we can fulfill our dreams and make a difference. This mural will help strengthen that perspective and be a true source of encouragement and comfort as we can continue to make tremendous progress in our community.”

The design for the mural – known as “The Seeds that are Planted” – was envisioned by artist and painter Joseph McKinney, who worked alongside local artist assistants to complete the project. The mural created a job opportunity for local artists. The mural depicts one continuous line connecting the past struggles, sacrifices and triumphs of our ancestors to our present-day reality.

Various sponsors and partners included the City of Atlanta’s Office of Cultural Affairs, Park Pride and Georgia Power.

“The arts are a huge part of Atlanta’s rich heritage; they foster the critical and creative thinking that strengthens our state’s economy,” said Bentina Terry, senior vice president northwest region for Georgia Power.  “We are committed to ensuring that the arts remain a strong fiber in the fabric of our communities and proud to partner in this project.”

Rev. Boone, one of the heroes of the civil rights moment, was an activist and organizer who marched alongside Martin Luther King Jr. He was a key organizer of the Atlanta Movement, which led to the integration of lunch counters and department stores in Atlanta during the early 1960s.

Young was a four-term member of the Council, serving District 3 from 2002 until his death in 2018. During his tenure, he successfully championed the development of affordable housing and parks, as well as improved public safety and job-training opportunities throughout the district.

Atlanta has 145 permanent artworks and monuments commissioned or adopted by the City. The City has sponsored and tracks 97 mural projects across the city, which includes interior murals, exterior murals, utility boxes, and the mural bike racks. District 3 currently has three mural projects sponsored by the City. “The Seeds that are Planted” mural will be one of the largest in the city.

About Atlanta City Council
The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Antonio Brown; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

To learn more about the Atlanta City Council, please visit For the latest updates, follow the Atlanta City Council on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.



Zena Lewis                   404-330-6309

Talia Moffitt                404-546-1835

Michael Ulmer         404-330-6056

Return to full list >>