Press Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

City Council Approves Legislation to Provide for Comprehensive Update to City’s Impact Fee Program

Post Date:01/06/2020 7:31 PM

ACC News Release Header

Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave. SW
Atlanta, GA 30303

January 6, 2020 

City Council Approves Legislation to Provide for Comprehensive Update to City’s Impact Fee Program 

ATLANTA — The Atlanta City Council approved legislation Monday to provide for a comprehensive update to the city of Atlanta’s impact fee program (Legislative Reference No. 19-O-1728). The City assesses impact fees on new developments to help pay for the expanded capital facilities that will be required to serve new residents and businesses that will occupy the developments. Impact fees are assessed for transportation, parks, police and fire facilities.

“We must make sure our impact fee structure is practical, effective and fiscally responsible,” said District 7 Council member Howard Shook, who introduced the legislation. “We haven’t updated our impact fees since 1993. This legislation ensures the steps are taken to review our impact fee program and get it on the right financial footing.”

Additional items approved Monday include:

• An ordinance that would establish a Small Business Advisory Council to provide policy recommendations related to supporting the development and growth of micro and small businesses and entrepreneurs (Legislative Reference No. 19-O-1722). The advisory council would consist of seven members appointed by the Mayor, Council president, Council members, Invest Atlanta and Atlanta Business League.

• A resolution authorizing a memorandum of agreement with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for the use of their Integrated Public Alerting and Warning System (IPAWS) for the purpose of sending emergency notification messages to the public concerning emergency conditions that may affect Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (Legislative Reference No. 19-R-5329).

• A resolution to authorize the mayor or her designee to identify funding to assist Hosea Helps for capital improvements to the organization’s facility.

Council members introduced several items for consideration in committee meetings next week including:

• An ordinance authorizing the mayor or her designee to donate funds in the amount of $180,000 to Hosea Helps to assist with the completion of building renovations.

• An ordinance authorizing a donation not to exceed $21,000 from the District 12, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 9, 10, 11 and Posts 1 and 3 At-Large carry forward accounts to Hosea Helps to assist with the organization’s operations.

• An ordinance authorizing the mayor or her designee to designate Griffin Street NW between Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard and Jefferson Street NW as Honorable Ivory Lee Young Jr. Way and to authorize the Department of Public Works to install honorary street name signs at each intersection.

• An ordinance to amend the city’s Code of Ordinances for the purpose of improving processes that will increase community engagement in the Neighborhood Planning Unit (NPU) system.

• An ordinance authorizing the Department of City Planning to establish a building permit fee waiver program for private sector entities pursuing an affordable housing development or development that includes a defined number of units set aside as affordable housing.

• A resolution encouraging the Georgia General Assembly to repeal their prohibition on the ability of counties or municipalities from controlling or regulating rent to be charged for privately owned single-family or multiple-unit residential rental properties. In addition, the resolution asks for the General Assembly to review their policies on rental properties for the purpose of promoting equity and affordability to those residing in Georgia.

Members of the Council also presented proclamations in honor of The Glenn School Children’s Clothing Sale, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Incorporated, and employees of the Department of Watershed Management.

About Atlanta City Council

The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Antonio Brown; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

To learn more about the Atlanta City Council, please visit For the latest updates, follow the Atlanta City Council on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.




Zena Lewis                   404-330-6309

Talia Moffitt               404-546-1835

Michael Ulmer        404-330-6056