Press Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Smoke Free Ordinance Now in Effect in Atlanta

Post Date:01/02/2020 4:28 PM

ACC News Release Header

Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave. SW
Atlanta, GA 30303

January 2, 2020 

Smoke Free Ordinance Now in Effect in Atlanta

ATLANTA — A comprehensive smoke-free ordinance to make Atlanta a healthier city for residents, employees, and visitors has officially taken effect today, January 2.

The legislation, adopted by the Council with a 13-2 vote and signed into law by Mayor Keisha Lance Bottoms in July, prohibits smoking and vaping indoors in most public places, including bars and restaurants, while exempting cigar bars and hookah lounges. (Legislative Reference No. 19-O-1205).

“Everyone in Atlanta has the right to breathe smoke-free air,” said Post 2 At-Large Council member Matt Westmoreland, who introduced the legislation. “I am grateful for the strong collaboration between the business community and healthcare advocates as we developed this legislation. For six months, we partnered with a broad and diverse group of stakeholders to improve the quality of life for residents while working to protect small businesses like cigar bars and hookah lounges. I’m proud we took this important step to protect public health and highlight to our teens the danger of vaping and e-smoking.”

Atlanta joins more than 1,000 cities across the country with comprehensive smoke-free protections aimed at ensuring residents, visitors and employees can be free from secondhand smoke exposure.

About Atlanta City Council

The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Antonio Brown; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

To learn more about the Atlanta City Council, please visit For the latest updates, follow the Atlanta City Council on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.


Contacts:        Zena Lewis                                           404-330-6309

                        Talia Moffitt                                        404-546-1835 

                        Michael Ulmer                                 404-330-6056

Return to full list >>