Press Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Atlanta City Council Approves Legislation Creating Urban Enterprise Zone to Create Affordable Housing Units

Post Date:12/02/2019 7:58 PM

ACC News Release Header

Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave. SW
Atlanta, GA 30303

Michael Ulmer, Communications Specialist
Office: (404) 330-6056
Mobile: (470) 825-5250

December 2, 2019 

Atlanta City Council Approves Legislation Creating Urban Enterprise Zone to Create Affordable Housing Units 

ATLANTA — The Atlanta City Council approved legislation Monday establishing the “City View at Rosa Burney Park Housing Urban Enterprise Zone” in the Mechanicsville neighborhood (Legislative Reference No. 19-O-1671). The Urban Enterprise Zone Program allows the City to designate an area or site to receive an abatement of taxes for the purpose of encouraging private investment in areas or sites which otherwise would unlikely be developed because of economic depression. This designation of a residential Urban Enterprise Zone is for 259 and 295 Richardson Street to be rehabilitated as 181 residential affordable housing units for families earning no more than 60 percent of the area median income – a maximum of $52,080.

Other items approved Monday include:

• An ordinance prohibiting the city or its contractors from purchasing, acquiring, or making available to the public non-compostable single-use serviceware, such as plastic bags, polystyrene (i.e., Styrofoam), and plastic straws. The ban applies to all City buildings, including the concourses and terminals at Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport. (Legislative Reference No. 19-O-1418).
• A resolution requesting that the Office of Resilience pursue partnerships with private partners to encourage the phasing out of the use and distribution of non-compostable single-use serviceware (Legislative Reference No. 19-R-3949).
• An ordinance amending the 2020 Intergovernmental Grant Fund Budget in the amount of approximately $332,970 for the 2019 Highway Enforcement of Aggressive Traffic (HEAT) grant from the governor’s Office of Highway Safety (Legislative Reference No. 19-O-1673). HEAT grant participants are part of a multi-jurisdictional initiative to reduce traffic fatalities related to DUI offenses and distracted driving.
• An ordinance authorizing a franchise agreement with Comcast Cable Communications LLC (Legislative Reference No. 19-O-1598). The agreement sets forth what is expected of the City of Atlanta and the cable company as part of building and maintaining its cable system, including continued capital funding of Public Access, Education and Government (PEG) channels such as People TV.
• A resolution authorizing the mayor, or her designee, to enter into Amendment No. 1 to FC-10311 with WSP USA Inc. for architectural and engineering services for the Cycle Atlanta 1.0 Improvement Project in an amount not to exceed $187,765 (Legislative Reference No. 19-R-5308). The Cycle Atlanta 1.0 Improvements contract was authorized in February for the purpose of improving bicycle access at six MARTA rail stations and multiple fixed route bus services serving the City by implementing and constructing bicycle lanes, wayfinding signage and shared lane markings.
• An ordinance to accept grant funding in the amount of $2.8 million from the Federal Transit Administration for the Atlanta Streetcar Downtown Crosstown Extension Project, which advances planning work for a western expansion of the existing streetcar system (Legislative Reference No. 19-O-1687).
• An ordinance amending the City’s code of ordinances related to remarks from elected officials to ensure the efficient and equitable conduct of the public comment section of the agenda by adding a section entitled “Statements by elected officials” to the Council’s order of business where elected officials will be permitted to speak for up to 10 minutes (Legislative Reference No. 19-O-1541).
• A resolution urging the Georgia General Assembly to enact legislation supporting the legalization, decriminalization and regulation of cannabis and cannabis-related products (Legislative Reference No. 19-R-4487).

The Council immediately considered and adopted a resolution encouraging the Georgia General Assembly to give express authorization to local governments to regulate the sale of vapor products throughout the state of Georgia.

Also, Council member Jennifer Ide introduced legislation to amend the charter of the City of Atlanta to create the position and office of the Inspector General. The legislation establishes its roles and responsibilities and requires the provision of funds necessary for the facilities, equipment and staffing for the inspector general to carry out the responsibilities of the office. The legislation was referred to the Finance and Executive Committee and the Committee on Council.

Council member Natalyn Archibong introduced legislation establishing a small business advisory council for the purpose of providing policy recommendations to the City Council to help small businesses and entrepreneurs flourish and create more living wage jobs. The legislation was referred to the Community Development and Human Services Committee.

Council member Howard Shook introduced legislation to provide for a comprehensive update to the City of Atlanta’s impact fee program. The legislation was referred to the Community Development and Human Services Committee and the Finance and Executive Committee.

Members of the Council also presented proclamations in honor of Chief Patrick Labat of the Department of Corrections, Sabrina Watts, Mary Francis Early, and the Fox Theater’s 90th anniversary.

About Atlanta City Council
The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Antonio Brown; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

To learn more about the Atlanta City Council, please visit For the latest updates, follow the Atlanta City Council on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.