Press Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Atlanta City Council Approves Ban of Non-Compostable Serviceware at City-Owned Buildings, Including Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport

Post Date:12/02/2019 5:21 PM

ACC News Release Header

Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave. SW
Atlanta, GA 30303

Michael Ulmer, Communications Specialist
Office: (404) 330-6056
Mobile: (470) 825-5250

December 2, 2019 

Atlanta City Council Approves Ban of Non-Compostable Serviceware at City-Owned Buildings, Including Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport 

ATLANTA — The Atlanta City Council approved legislation Monday prohibiting the city or its contractors from purchasing, acquiring, or making available to the public non-compostable single-use serviceware, such as plastic bags, polystyrene (i.e., Styrofoam), and plastic straws. The ban applies to all City buildings, including the concourses and terminals at Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport. (Legislative Reference No. 19-O-1418).

Council member Amir Farokhi, the ordinance’s originating sponsor, believes that the bill is a great example of the power of collective action at City Hall.

“Mayor Bottoms and her team were enthusiastic partners on this from day one. This doesn’t get done without her leadership,” Farokhi said. “Further, Council member Carla Smith should be singled out for her hard work in helping move this bill forward. I was thrilled to have such an active partner in advocating for positive change.”

Farokhi believes that the bill is a major step forward for Atlanta. But he feels there is ample room for further action. 

“This bill is as much about us catching up to consumer expectations as it is about leading,” Farokhi said. “I’m proud of this bill and today’s vote. But there is more to do before we can stake a claim to being ahead of the curve on sustainability. I think there is a shared understanding of this fact. So, I hope that this bill is a first step and not the last word. Sustainability and climate change are defining challenges of our time. Inaction is unacceptable.”

The legislation passed unanimously with 11 co-sponsors. It now heads to the Mayor’s desk for her signature.  

For press inquiries, please contact Tony Lucadamo at 404-713-8807.

About Atlanta City Council
The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Antonio Brown; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

To learn more about the Atlanta City Council, please visit For the latest updates, follow the Atlanta City Council on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.