Press Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Atlanta City Council President Felicia A. Moore and Isabel Gonzalez-Whitaker to Unveil Officer Edgar I. Flores Memorial Garden at Sara J. Gonzalez Memorial Park Wednesday

Post Date:10/08/2019 3:47 PM

ACC News Release Header

Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave. SW
Atlanta, GA 30303

Michael Ulmer, Communications Specialist
Office: (404) 330-6056
Mobile: (470) 825-5250

October 8, 2019 

Atlanta City Council President Felicia A. Moore and Isabel Gonzalez-Whitaker to Unveil Officer Edgar I. Flores Memorial Garden at Sara J. Gonzalez Memorial Park Wednesday

ATLANTA — Atlanta City Council President Felicia A. Moore and Isabel Gonzalez-Whitaker will unveil the newest features of the Sara J. Gonzalez Memorial Park, including the Officer Edgar I. Flores Memorial Garden, Wednesday, Oct. 9 at 11 a.m. at the park, 2411 Coronet Way NW.

Gonzalez-Whittaker initiated the renaming of the park in 2009, a year after the death of her mother, Sara J. Gonzalez, a Cuban immigrant, Atlanta resident and former Georgia Hispanic Chamber of Commerce CEO.

“The Sara J. Gonzalez Memorial Park, the first park in Georgia named for a Hispanic, is more than a park dedicated to the memory of my mother and her contributions to Atlanta on behalf of women, immigrants and minorities. It's a park that celebrates through its features the values she stood for: diversity, unity, community and family,” Gonzalez-Whittaker said.

Earlier this year, the Council approved legislation sponsored by District 9 Council member Dustin Hillis naming the community garden at the park in honor of Officer Flores, a DeKalb County police officer killed in the line of duty. The garden is the first memorial to a fallen Latino police officer in Georgia.

“It's an honor to be able to recognize the life and legacy of Officer Edgar Flores, a brave young man who loved his family, valued education, respected others, and like my mother, dedicated himself to making the world a better place for all,” Gonzalez-Whittaker said.

“Naming the garden in honor of Officer Flores allows us to recognize a life well-lived – one that was tragically taken away too soon,” Moore said. “We hope this serves as a constant reminder of his life and service and what he meant to this community and our city.”

“Our heart continues to go out to Officer Flores’ family and the community as a whole,” Hillis said. “As we mourn his loss, I’m hopeful this garden will help celebrate both his life and how he showed selfless, unwavering courage in his service to the community.”

Additional special guests during Wednesday’s event will include Atlanta Police Chief Erika Shields, DeKalb County Public Safety Director Joseph Lumpkin, the family of Officer Flores, Atlanta Parks Commissioner John Dargle Jr., Georgia Power Executive Foundation Director Rita Breen, Dresden Elementary Assistant Principal Jose M. Osorio, and Ellen Bruenderman of Park Pride.

About Atlanta City Council

The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Antonio Brown; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

To learn more about the Atlanta City Council, please visit For the latest updates, follow the Atlanta City Council on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.