Press Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Council Member Michael Julian Bond to Present Proclamations Monday to ‘ATL Homicide’ Stars David Quinn and Vince Velazquez

Post Date:10/04/2019 5:37 PM

ACC News Release Header

Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave. SW
Atlanta, GA 30303

Michael Ulmer, Communications Specialist
Office: (404) 330-6056
Mobile: (470) 825-5250

October 4, 2019 

Council Member Michael Julian Bond to Present Proclamations Monday to ‘ATL Homicide’ Stars David Quinn and Vince Velazquez

ATLANTA — Join Post 1 At-Large Council member Michael Julian Bond during Monday’s Council meeting at 1 p.m. as he presents proclamations to David Quinn and Vince Velazquez, retired Atlanta Police Department detectives and stars of TV One’s “ATL Homicide.”

“As a former corrections officer, I welcome any opportunity to recognize the good men and women in public safety who serve our City,” Bond said. “Detectives Quinn and Velazquez had a wonderful career with our police department and it’s an honor to have them with us Monday.” 

Quinn joined the Atlanta Police Department shortly after high school and worked as a beat cop in some of the City’s most dangerous neighborhoods before getting promoted to homicide detective in 2000. After time in the United States Air Force, Velazquez was an airline engineer before becoming a cop. He spent several years in the Narcotics Division before being promoted to the Homicide Unit. Quinn and Velazquez worked side by side in the Homicide Division for 15 years, tackling hundreds of cold cases and high-profile murders together.

About Atlanta City Council
The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Antonio Brown; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

To learn more about the Atlanta City Council, please visit For the latest updates, follow the Atlanta City Council on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.