Press Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Atlanta City Council Member Antonio Brown to Co-Host Event Celebrating Improvements to Washington Park Thursday

Post Date:09/11/2019 12:23 PM

ACC News Release Header

Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave. SW
Atlanta, GA 30303

Michael Ulmer, Communications Specialist
Office: (404) 330-6056
Mobile: (470) 825-5250

September 11, 2019 

Atlanta City Council Member Antonio Brown to Co-Host Event Celebrating Improvements to Washington Park Thursday 

ATLANTA — District 3 Council member Antonio Brown will co-host a community event Thursday, Sept. 12 to celebrate upcoming improvements to Washington Park. The celebration will start at 11 a.m. at the Washington Park Natatorium, 102 Ollie Street NW.

“It’s always important that we invest in our parks and work together to benefit the community,” Brown said. “Washington Park is a treasured resource and these improvements will help ensure it remains a vibrant place that we can all enjoy. I look forward to celebrating these upgrades and showcasing the valuable role that parks play in connecting people and bringing our community together.”

This year marks the 100th anniversary of Washington Park, one of the most historic parks in the City. The improvements include upgrades to the natatorium’s WiFi, HVAC system and workout equipment. Thursday’s event will feature remarks from Brown, as well as officials representing Renew Atlanta and the City’s Parks and Recreation Department.

For more information, contact Council member Brown’s office at 404-330-6046.

About Atlanta City Council

The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Antonio Brown; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

To learn more about the Atlanta City Council, please visit For the latest updates, follow the Atlanta City Council on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.


Return to full list >>