Press Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Atlanta City Council Member Cleta Winslow Adds $3,000 To Find Atlanta University Center Shooter

Post Date:08/27/2019 10:27 AM

ACC News Release Header


Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave. SW
Atlanta, GA 30303

Michael Ulmer, Communications Specialist
Office: (404) 330-6056
Mobile: (470) 825-5250 

August 27, 2019 

Atlanta City Council Member Cleta Winslow Adds $3,000 To Find Atlanta University Center Shooter 

ATLANTA — Council member Cleta Winslow announced Sunday she is adding $3,000 to the reward money being offered by Crime Stoppers to assist in finding the suspect from the August 20 shooting at the Atlanta University Center. 

Winslow’s addition brings the total reward to $5,000 for providing pertinent information toward identifying the shooter. Any information given to the Atlanta Police Department is confidential. 

“Look into your heart and just say ‘I wouldn't want that to happen to my child, to my sister, to my niece or any of my loved ones,’” Winslow said.

Four students were shot or grazed during the incident that occurred in the area of the Atlanta University Center Robert W. Woodruff Library.

“Someone knows the shooter and I hope they will come forward very soon to help solve this crime,” Winslow said. “As the council member for District 4 and as a Clark Atlanta Graduate, I am concerned about the safety of our Atlanta University Center students whom I consider as my family.”

Anyone with information should contact Crime Stoppers of Greater Atlanta at 404-577-TIPS.

About Atlanta City Council
The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Antonio Brown; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

To learn more about the Atlanta City Council, please visit For the latest updates, follow the Atlanta City Council on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.


Return to full list >>