Press Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Council President Felicia A. Moore Calls for Forensic Audit of Former Chief Financial Officer Activities

Post Date:08/19/2019 2:57 PM

ACC News Release Header

Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave. S.W.
Atlanta, GA 30303

Cathy Murray, External Affairs
Office of the Atlanta City Council President – Felicia A. Moore
Office: (404) 330-6052

August 19, 2019

Council President Felicia A. Moore Calls for Forensic Audit of Former Chief Financial Officer Activities

ATLANTA – Atlanta City Council President Felicia A. Moore is strongly recommending a forensic review regarding specific activities of the City’s former Chief Financial Officer James “Jim” Beard.  

The recommendation, which may be viewed here, was presented in writing to City Auditor Amanda Noble.

“Findings from the ongoing investigations continue to be disturbing,” Council President Moore said.  “As it pertains to the most recent allegations against the former CFO, these revelations highlight the need for both the public and City Council to fully understand the scope of actions taken by the former CFO wherein internal controls were overridden. This is the reasonable next step toward identifying where our processes are deficient and determining the corrective action needed to ensure fiscal responsibility.”   

About Atlanta City Council

The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Antonio Brown; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

To learn more about the Atlanta City Council, please visit For the latest updates, follow the Atlanta City Council on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.


Return to full list >>