Press Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Atlanta City Council Members Andre Dickens and Dustin Hillis to Host Mobility and Safety Town Hall Meeting

Post Date:08/19/2019 1:43 PM

ACC News Release Header

Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave. S.W.
Atlanta, GA 30303

Talia Moffitt
Public Information Officer – Council Communications
(404) 546-1835 / (404) 326-6506

August 19, 2019

Atlanta City Council Members Andre Dickens and Dustin Hillis to Host Mobility and Safety Town Hall Meeting

ATLANTA–City Council members Andre Dickens and Dustin Hillis will host a mobility and safety community town hall meeting in the Council Chambers of Atlanta City Hall on Aug. 26 at 6 p.m. The town hall meeting comes on the heels of three fatal scooter-related accidents in the City, new legislation regulating the hours of operation of dockless mobility devices, and increased public demand for a mobility solution.  

“Transportation safety is an important issue in our community, so we’re asking everyone to join us to share their thoughts on what we can do better,” said Council member Andre Dickens, chair of the City Council’s Transportation Committee. “This town hall is about more than just scooters. It’s about improving safety and our overall transportation network.” 

Many topics will be discussed at the town hall including current mobility policies and their proposed changes. Experts from advocacy groups, policy makers, and healthcare professionals will share mobility injury and fatality statistics, professional recommendations, and how other cities are tackling transportation and mobility.

"It is imperative that our City works diligently to implement Complete Streets, redesigning our streets and infrastructure in a manner that improves safety and accessibility for all, whether traveling by car, public transit, foot, wheelchair, bike, or any other of the various mobility devices. This town hall will serve as a great opportunity to listen to the views of residents regarding our best steps forward,” said Council member Dustin Hillis, chair of the City Council’s Public Safety and Legal Administration Committee.

A virtual town hall meeting will be held simultaneously on the Atlanta City Council’s Facebook page. The public can submit questions and comments during the virtual town hall meeting or in advance of the town hall on the Atlanta City Council’s Facebook, Twitter and Instagram pages.  

About Atlanta City Council
The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Antonio Brown; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

To learn more about the Atlanta City Council, please visit For the latest updates, follow the Atlanta City Council on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.


Return to full list >>