Press Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Atlanta City Council Unanimously Approves Resolution Opposing Demolition of 152 Nassau Street

Post Date:08/06/2019 3:53 PM

ACC News Release Header

Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave. SW
Atlanta, GA 30303

Michael Ulmer, Communications Specialist
Office: (404) 330-6056
Mobile: (470) 825-5250

August 6, 2019 

Atlanta City Council Unanimously Approves Resolution Opposing Demolition of 152 Nassau Street 

ATLANTA — The Atlanta City Council unanimously approved a resolution Monday expressing opposition to the demolition of 152 Nassau Street, a historic downtown building associated with early country, blues, jazz and gospel artists.

Post 1 At-Large Council member Michael Julian Bond, who introduced the resolution, feels that tearing down the building would destroy an important piece of local and national history.

“This is one of Atlanta’s most historic sites and a great treasure in our community. While Memphis, Nashville and New Orleans are often considered the front-runners in the early history of music, this site is proof that Atlanta was ground zero for recording and documenting Southern music,” Bond said. “We cannot allow this space to go away without some level of debate and consideration.”

The building is home to where musician Fiddlin’ John Carson once recorded what’s widely considered to be the first country music hit in 1923. The site is also closely associated with the work of record producer Ralph S. Peer, African American artists such as Lucille Bogan and Fannie Goosby, and the Morehouse College Quartet.

About Atlanta City Council
The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Antonio Brown; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

To learn more about the Atlanta City Council, please visit For the latest updates, follow the Atlanta City Council on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.


Return to full list >>