Press Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Council Member Antonio Brown Calls on the Environmental Protection Agency to Test for Lead in City Council Districts 3, 9 and 10

Post Date:08/06/2019 2:27 PM

ACC News Release Header

Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave. SW
Atlanta, GA 30303

Talia Moffitt
Public Information Officer – Council Communications
Office: (404) 546-1835
Mobile: (404) 326-6506

August 6, 2019

Council Member Antonio Brown Calls on the Environmental Protection Agency to Test for Lead in City Council Districts 3, 9 and 10

ATLANTA — District 3 Council member Antonio Brown introduced a resolution at Monday’s full council meeting requesting the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) test for the presence of lead in City Council Districts 3, 9 and 10. The request includes residential and commercial properties in zip codes 30311, 30313, 30314 and 30318. The resolution was immediately adopted by the Council.

“I’m concerned about the levels. We need to test the entire Westside to see how expansive this issue is,” Brown said. “The EPA can show its commitment to residents by including all homes and commercial property on the Westside in their study.”

The EPA is currently investigating possible lead soil contamination in some of Brown’s Westside neighborhoods after an Emory University doctoral student discovered elevated levels in the area. Brown wants to expand the study to include residents who live in the districts represented by Council members Dustin Hillis and Andrea Boone.

The soil testing, which is being provided to residents and property owners at no cost, includes 360 properties between Joseph E. Boone Boulevard, Chestnut Street, Cameron Alexander Boulevard and the old CSX rail line. Brown is also asking the EPA to test water sources on the Westside for possible lead contamination.

Lead exposure can be dangerous, especially to children. It has been shown to impact brain development, damage a person’s kidneys and nervous system, and may cause seizures, unconsciousness and death.

About Atlanta City Council
The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Antonio Brown; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

To learn more about the Atlanta City Council, please visit For the latest updates, follow the Atlanta City Council on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Vimeo.



Return to full list >>