Press Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Council to Consider Repealing Department of City Planning’s Authority to Issue Scooter Permits

Post Date:08/05/2019 7:49 PM

ACC News Release Header

Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave. SW
Atlanta, GA 30303

Michael Ulmer, Communications Specialist
Office: (404) 330-6056
Mobile: (470) 825-5250 

August 5, 2019 

Council to Consider Repealing Department of City Planning’s Authority to Issue Scooter Permits 

ATLANTA — Atlanta City Council member Carla Smith introduced legislation on behalf of the Administration during Monday’s City Council meeting to repeal the Department of City Planning’s authority to issue shareable dockless mobility device permits. The legislation allows system operators holding a permit issued prior to Aug. 19, 2019 to continue to operate through the expiration of the permit. The legislation was referred to the Council’s Transportation Committee, which will meet at 10:30 a.m. Wednesday, Aug. 14 in Committee Room No. 1 at Atlanta City Hall, 55 Trinity Ave. SW.

The Council also approved legislation amending the 2020 intergovernmental grant fund to provide emergency funding for existing project sponsors operating within the regulations and guidelines of the Housing Opportunities for Persons with AIDS (HOPWA) grant. The legislation provides emergency funding for existing program participants and activities necessary to perform services under the grant (Legislative Reference No. 19-O-1394).

Additionally, the Council approved legislation authorizing an intergovernmental agreement through May 1, 2020 between the City of Atlanta and Invest Atlanta, the official economic development authority of the City of Atlanta (Legislative Reference No. 19-R-3452).

Other items approved by the Council include:

• A resolution authorizing Invest Atlanta to create and administer a community loan fund program to encourage small and micro business development and revitalization within Atlanta (Legislative Reference No. 19-R-3877).

• An ordinance to anticipate and appropriate funding for the 2019 Annual Action Plan, which covers grant funding the City of Atlanta receives from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. The plan includes funding related to the Community Development Block Grant, the Emergency Solutions Grant, the HOME Housing Investment Partnership program and HOPWA (Legislative Reference No. 19-O-1215).

• An ordinance to change the ad valorem tax rate of real and personal property for the general levy, debt levy, city parks levy, school operating levy, school debt levy and the special tax district levy. The change includes no increase in property taxes (Legislative Reference No. 19-O-1347).

• An ordinance to enter into an agreement with Universal Tennis Management for managing and operating Atlanta’s five tennis centers. The proposal extends the agreement on a month-to-month basis for a period up to six months effective Aug. 11, 2019 (Legislative Reference No. 19-O-1377).

•  A resolution requesting the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry conduct environmental testing for ethylene oxide to assess health risks and impacts regarding the operation of the Sterigenics facility in Smyrna within the surrounding area.

• A resolution extending the time period for the Task Force for the Promotion of Public Trust to present written recommendations to the mayor, Council president and the City Council from Sept. 16, 2019 to Oct. 14, 2019.

• A resolution urging the City of Atlanta to halt the demolition of 152 Nassau Street.

Council member Andre Dickens introduced legislation directing the commissioner of the Department of City Planning to review and expedite the permitting process for new and existing developments with a minimum of 10 percent of units at or below the housing and urban development housing affordability rate. The legislation was referred to the Community Development and Human Services Committee.

Members of the Council presented a proclamation to Dr. James K. Bennett for his community involvement and accomplishments in the field of medicine.

About Atlanta City Council
The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Antonio Brown; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

To learn more about the Atlanta City Council, please visit For the latest updates, follow the Atlanta City Council on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.


Return to full list >>