Press Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Atlanta City Council President Felicia Moore Issues Statement After Third Scooter-Related Death

Post Date:08/02/2019 2:11 PM

ACC News Release Header

Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave. SW
Atlanta, GA 30303

Cathy Murray, External Affairs
Office of the Atlanta City Council President – Felicia A. Moore
Office: (404) 330-6052

August 2, 2019

Atlanta City Council President Felicia Moore Issues Statement After Third Scooter-Related Death

ATLANTA — Upon receiving news of the city’s third death involving the use of e-scooters, Council President Felicia Moore issued the following statement:

“The City of Atlanta has recently experienced its third electric scooter-related death. My condolences are extended to the family of Amber Ford, who was killed last Saturday in a hit-and-run incident while riding an e-scooter, according to media reports. Let us also remember the families of William Alexander and Eric Amis Jr., who also lost their lives in scooter-related incidents.

Our condolences are always genuine, but they are not a sufficient response to this growing issue of public safety. It is time for all stakeholders to display a level of responsibility commensurate to our awareness. I encourage citizens to continue making safety a top priority as you choose transportation modes. Please consider limiting your use of e-scooters at night, and if possible, consider limiting their use entirely as we work through the city’s infrastructure challenges. If scooters are your preferred method of mobility, please observe the established guidelines for operating them (

As president of the Atlanta City Council, I encourage all council members to fully exhaust your legislative authority relative to this matter. The current administration has taken steps to halt the issuance of new e-scooter permits and we expect to review legislation regarding it as early as this Monday, August 5, 2019. Please continue to consider the current state of urban infrastructure throughout the city and the value of a human life as this matter is deliberated upon. The solution must be one that takes the long view – mitigating immediate dangers and establishing realistic plans for accommodating not only e-scooters, but other emerging and innovative transportation modes. 

This matter is complex, requiring an approach that is data-driven and inclusive of multiple stakeholder perspectives. Let us all resolve to face the issue head-on and create solutions that preserve both public safety and innovation for everyone.”

About Atlanta City Council
The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Antonio Brown; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

To learn more about the Atlanta City Council, please visit For the latest updates, follow the Atlanta City Council on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Vimeo.


Return to full list >>