Press Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Council Member Andrea Boone to Host Community Cleanup with World Mission Society Church of God Along Martin Luther King Jr. Drive Corridor

Post Date:08/01/2019 2:41 PM

 ACC News Release Header

Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave. SW
Atlanta, GA 30303

Talia Moffitt
Public Information Officer – Council Communications
Office: (404) 546-1835
Mobile: (404) 326-6506

August 1, 2019

Council Member Andrea Boone to Host Community Cleanup with World Mission Society Church of God Along Martin Luther King Jr. Drive Corridor

ATLANTA—District 10 Council member Andrea Boone is hosting a district-wide community cleanup Sunday, August 4 from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. with World Mission Society Church of God.

“This is our third year hosting a community cleanup with World Mission Society Church of God. We are thankful for everyone’s effort on this important event,” Boone said.

Volunteers are meeting at the C.T. Martin Natatorium and Recreation Center, 3201 M.L.K. Jr. Drive SW, to kick off the cleanup. Volunteers should arrive by 9 a.m.

"We are very excited about this Sunday's cleanup, and to introduce our university student group ASEZ (the acronym stands for saving the Earth from A to Z),” said Jacob Lee, pastor of World Mission Society Church of God. “Our church performs many environmental protection efforts throughout the world, and we share one goal, share the love of a mother with all 7 billion people of the world."

Boone is also partnering with Keep Atlanta Beautiful Commission and the City of Atlanta Department of Corrections for the cleanup.

For more information, please contact Council member Andrea Boone’s office at (404) 330-6055.

About Atlanta City Council
The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Antonio Brown; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

To learn more about the Atlanta City Council, please visit For the latest updates, follow the Atlanta City Council on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Vimeo


Return to full list >>