Press Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Atlanta City Council Celebrates Success of Atlanta Schools in State Title Games

Post Date:03/08/2019 11:27 AM

Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave., S.W.
Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Michael Ulmer, Communications Specialist
Office: (404) 330-6056
Mobile: (470) 825-5250


March 8, 2019

Atlanta City Council Celebrates Success of Atlanta Schools in State Title Games

ATLANTA—Several members of the Atlanta City Council have issued statements about the success of Atlanta schools following today’s Class 2A State Championship basketball games.

The Daniel McLaughlin Therrell High School Panthers beat Vidalia 51-49 to take home the boys state championship.

The Frederick Douglass High School Lady Astros beat Early County 57-51 to take home the girls state championship.

“I want to congratulate the Frederick Douglass High School Lady Astros on their victory today becoming the 2A state champions. As an alum of the high school, I’m very proud of their achievement. This was the first state championship that the school has won since my senior year of 1984 when the boys team won with the leadership of NBA standout Chris Morris. It’s almost to the very day that the boys won. They’ve had a program that has stood out and they’ve been perennial leaders on the court. It’s great to see them bring home a championship.”– Post 1 At-Large Council member Michael Julian Bond


“I am so proud of my alma mater, the Mighty Astros, on today’s state championship win! Thank you to our coaches and all our players and their families for once again making Frederick Douglass grads and the entire community proud.” – District 10 Council member Andrea L. Boone


“As a graduate of Atlanta Public Schools, and the parent of a current student, it is very exciting to see Atlanta schools in the basketball finals. Everyone in Atlanta is celebrating the big wins by Douglass and Therrell! We are so proud of our hometown teams for their success this season.” – Post 3 At-Large Council member Andre Dickens

Atlanta City Council

The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: vacant; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

Council information, committee agendas and more may be found on the Atlanta City Council website here. Video archives of the council’s regularly scheduled meetings, committee meetings and work sessions may be found here.