Press Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Atlanta City Council Expresses Opposition to Proposed State Takeover of Atlanta Airport

Post Date:03/04/2019 5:03 PM

ACC News Release Header

Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave., S.W.
Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Talia Moffitt
Public Information Officer – Council Communications
Office: (404) 546-1835
Mobile: (404) 326-6506

March 4, 2019

Atlanta City Council Expresses Opposition to Proposed State Takeover of Atlanta Airport

ATLANTA—The Atlanta City Council expressed its opposition Monday to Senate Bill 131, a measure that would place control of Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport under a state created airport authority appointed by state officials to oversee operations.

At the Monday full council meeting, Council member Andre Dickens introduced a resolution unanimously signed by the council that opposes any state action that changes the existing governance structure of the world’s busiest airport.

“The citizens of Georgia support local control over state regulation. The city of Atlanta and airport are excelling in terms of economic growth and opportunity for the region. We don’t need an extra layer of oversight,” Dickens said.

Senate Bill 131, also called the Georgia Major Airports Authority, narrowly passed out of the Senate Transportation Committee last week. The bill would give the Authority oversight of construction, equipment, improvement, maintenance and operations at Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport.

In January, the Georgia State Financing and Investment Commission expressed concern that a state-run airport authority may impact credit rating and debt.

In the resolution introduced by Dickens, he shares concern that a takeover would cause fiscal harm to the state’s credit rating, and ultimately the welfare of the residents of the state.

“A takeover would inject instability and uncertainty around an important local, regional, and national asset, threatening the long-running stability and track record of success at the airport,” he said.

The Senate is expected to vote on SB 131 before Thursday’s Crossover Day deadline.

 Atlanta City Council

The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: vacant; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

Council information, committee agendas and more may be found on the Atlanta City Council website here. Video archives of the council’s regularly scheduled meetings, committee meetings and work sessions may be found here.