Press Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Atlanta City Council Declares a Vacancy in the District 3 Seat, Sets Date for Special Election

Post Date:11/28/2018 2:41 PM

ACC News Release Header


Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave. S.W.
Atlanta, GA 30303

Talia Moffitt
Public Information Officer – Council Communications
(404) 546-1835 / (404) 326-6506

November 28, 2018

Atlanta City Council Declares a Vacancy in the District 3 Seat, Sets Date for Special Election

ATLANTA – The Atlanta City Council held a special called meeting Wednesday to declare a vacancy in the District 3 seat due to the untimely death of Council member Ivory lee Young, Jr. Young passed away earlier this month.

A special election to fill the unexpired term of the District 3 seat will be held on March 19, 2019. If necessary, a runoff will be held on April 16, 2019.

Qualifying to run for the seat will take place Wednesday, Jan. 23 through Friday, Jan. 25 from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. at City Hall in the Municipal Clerk’s Office. The qualifying fee is $1809.

For more information, contact the Office of the Municipal Clerk at 404-330-6031 or email The Municipal Clerk’s Office is located at 55 Trinity Avenue, SW Suite 2700.

Also during Wednesday’s meeting, the Council Staff Director was authorized to provide administrative supervision to the District 3 staff until the special election results are certified.

Atlanta City Council

The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Ivory Lee Young; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

Council information, committee agendas and more may be found on the Atlanta City Council website here. Video archives of the council’s regularly scheduled meetings, committee meetings and work sessions may be found here.