Press Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Council to Consider a Resolution Calling for a Third-Party Audit of the Gulch Project, Renaming Confederate Avenue and Other Items at Oct. 1 Full Council Meeting

Post Date:09/28/2018 11:53 AM


Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave. S.W.
Atlanta, GA 30303

Talia Moffitt
Public Information Officer – Council Communications
(404) 546-1835 / (404) 326-6506


September 28, 2018

 Council to Consider a Resolution Calling for a Third-Party Audit of the Gulch Project, Renaming Confederate Avenue and Other Items at Oct. 1 Full Council Meeting

 ATLANTAThe Atlanta City Council will consider several legislative items at its Oct.1 Full Council meeting including a resolution requesting the City Auditor to identify and recommend a third-party firm to conduct an expedited, independent analysis of the Gulch Project (Legislative Reference No. 18-R-4209).

The council will also consider:

  • An ordinance by Councilmembers Carla Smith, Joyce M. Sheperd, Andrea L. Boone, Matt Westmoreland, Ivory L. Young, Jr. Michael Julian Bond, Cleta Winslow, Amir R. Farokhi, J.P. Matzigkeit, Dustin Hillis, Andre Dickens, Jennifer N. Ide, Natalyn M. Archibong, and Marci Collier Overstreet to rename Confederate Avenue to United Avenue (Legislative Reference No.18-O-1463). The legislation would also rename Confederate Court to Trestletree Court.
  • An ordinance to amend the city code to add microbrewery and microdistillery as a permitted use in the mixed residential commercial zoning district (Legislative Reference No. 18-O-1303).
  • A resolution authorizing the mayor to accept a donation on behalf of the city of Atlanta from Legacy LIII Foundation Inc. and the National Football League Foundation to improve John F. Kennedy Park.  (Legislative Reference No. 18-R-4199).
  • Several ordinances authorizing the mayor to accept grants totaling more than $1.8 million on behalf of the Atlanta Workforce Development Agency (Legislative Reference Nos. 18-O-1547, 18-O-1548, 18-O-1549).
  • A resolution by Councilmembers Howard Shook and J.P. Matzigkeit requesting the Fulton County Superior Court and Fulton County Magistrate Court install cameras in all courtrooms to voluntarily live stream select court proceedings (Legislative Reference No. 18-R-4153).
  • A resolution by Councilmember Joyce M. Sheperd authorizing the mayor to accept a $34,000 donation from the Anne E. Casey Foundation for the installation and maintenance of four sculptures in Pittman Park (Legislative Reference No. 18-R-4155).

Atlanta City Council
The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta: it acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts:

Council President: Felicia A. Moore

District 1: Carla Smith

District 6: Jennifer N. Ide

District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet

District 2: Amir Farokhi

District 7: Howard Shook

District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd

District 3: Ivory Lee Young

District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit

Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond

District 4: Cleta Winslow

District 9: Dustin Hillis

Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland

District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong

District 10: Andrea L. Boone

Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens

Council information, committee agendas and more may be found on the Atlanta City Council website here. Video archives of the council’s regularly scheduled meetings, committee meetings and work sessions may be found here.



Return to full list >>