How Do I...

Print
Council Mailing Address
55 Trinity Avenue, S.W., Suite 2900 
Atlanta, Georgia, 30303-3584

Phone Number:  404-330-6030 
Fax Number:  404-739-9118

The Atlanta City Council Mission

The City Council is the chief policy making body for the City of Atlanta. The Council’s mission is to ensure that Atlanta is led by a groundbreaking, strong, and capable group of leaders that work for the good of all citizens across the city. As a legislative body, the council’s main role is to make laws. In addition, the Council has oversight of multiple agencies, boards, and commissions. The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 15 members and is led by Council President Ceasar C. Mitchell. Each member of the Atlanta City Council tirelessly works to improve the lives of Atlanta’s citizens. Together, they work to ensure safer and cleaner streets, bolster Atlanta’s economy, and institute many community-based programs. Working hand in hand with Atlanta’s mayor and the members of the executive branch, the Council plays a key part in the budget process and financial well being of Atlanta.

Making Laws for the City of Atlanta/ How City Council Works

As the legislative branch, the Council is responsible for the creation of laws enacted to run the city government. Legislation can be introduced in two ways. The first way is that it be introduced on the floor of Council by a Councilmember. This is known as a personal paper. The other way is that the legislation can come through a committee. Here in the City of Atlanta, legislation takes two forms -- ordinances and resolutions. An ordinance establishes a permanent rule of government. Every official act of the Council, operating with force and effect of law, must be an ordinance. Ordinances must be read before full Council at two regular meetings. Resolutions express intent or support of various projects and enterprises or establish legislative policy of a general nature. Resolutions, unlike ordinances, need be read only once and can be introduced and adopted at the same meeting. In some cases, the Council is required by law to hold a public hearing and must notify the public about the hearing.

Government Oversight

In addition to legislation, the Atlanta City Council works hard to ensure that city government works for its citizens. Through the various Council Committees the council assesses various government programs and agencies. Each year, the Council is in charge of holding budget hearings in which the City’s budget, recommended by the Mayor, is strictly reviewed prior to being voted on by the Council.

As the Legislative Branch of City Government, Council's responsibilities are limited by the City Charter to establishing policy and enacting Laws. The day-to-day operation of the city is handled by the executive branch headed by the Mayor. Some helpful phone numbers are; Mayor's Office of Constituent Service (404) 330-6023, Public Works (404) 659-6757, Watershed Management (404) 658-6500 Planning (404) 330-6070 More phone numbers here

 

 Council President,  Ceasar C. Mitchell  55 Trinity Avenue, SW  30303 (404) 330-6052 
 District 1, Carla Smith                           
 csmith@atlantaga.gov 
 55 Trinity Avenue, SW  30303 (404) 330-6039
 District 2, Kwanza Hall                             
 khall@atlantaga.gov 
 55 Trinity Avenue, SW  30303  (404) 330-6038
 District 3, Ivory Lee Young, Jr.
 ilyoung@atlantaga.gov
 55 Trinity Avenue, SW  30303  (404) 330-6046
 District 4, Cleta Winslow                      
 cwinslow@atlantaga.gov  
 55 Trinity Avenue, SW  30303  (404) 330-6047
 District 5, Natalyn Mosby Archibong 
 narchibong@atlantaga.gov
 55 Trinity Avenue, SW  30303   (404) 330-6048
 District 6, Alex Wan
 awan@atlantaga.gov 
 55 Trinity Avenue, SW  30303  (404) 330-6049
 District 7, Howard Shook
 hshook@atlantaga.gov
 55 Trinity Avenue, SW  30303  (404) 330-6050
 District 8, Yolanda Adrean
 yadrean@atlantaga.gov
 55 Trinity Avenue, SW  30303  (404) 330-6051
 District 9, Felicia A. Moore
 fmoore@atlantaga.gov 
 55 Trinity Avenue, SW  30303  (404) 330-6044
 District 10, Clarence T. Martin
 cmartin@atlantaga.gov 
 55 Trinity Avenue, SW  30303  (404) 330-6055
 District 11, Keisha Bottoms
 kbottoms@atlantaga.gov 
 55 Trinity Avenue, SW  30303  (404) 330-6054
 District 12, Joyce Sheperd
jmsheperd@atlantaga.gov
 55 Trinity Avenue, SW  30303  (404) 330-6053
 Post 1, Michael Julian Bond                      
 mbond@atlantaga.gov 
 55 Trinity Avenue, SW  30303  (404) 330-6770
 Post 2, Mary Norwood
 mnorwood@atlantaga.gov 
 55 Trinity Avenue, SW  30303  (404) 330-6302
 Post 3, Andre Dickens
 adickens@atlantaga.gov
 55 Trinity Avenue, SW  30303  (404) 330-6041