Council Mailing Address
55 Trinity Avenue, S.W., Suite 2900
Atlanta, Georgia, 30303-3584 (Please note that the old 30335 zip has been phased out)

Phone Number:
  404-330-6030
Fax Number:  404-739-9118

The Atlanta City Council Mission
The City Council is the chief policy making body for the City of Atlanta. The Council’s mission is to ensure that Atlanta is led by a groundbreaking, strong, and capable group of leaders that work for the good of all citizens across the city. As a legislative body, the council’s main role is to make laws. In addition, the Council has oversight of multiple agencies, boards, and commissions. The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 15 members and is led by Council President Ceasar C. Mitchell. Each member of the Atlanta City Council tirelessly works to improve the lives of Atlanta’s citizens. Together, they work to ensure safer and cleaner streets, bolster Atlanta’s economy, and institute many community-based programs. Working hand in hand with Atlanta’s mayor and the members of the executive branch, the Council plays a key part in the budget process and financial well being of Atlanta.

Making Laws for the City of Atlanta/ How City Council Works
As the legislative branch, the Council is responsible for the creation of laws enacted to run the city government. Legislation can be introduced in two ways. The first way is that it be introduced on the floor of Council by a Councilmember. This is known as a personal paper. The other way is that the legislation can come through a committee. Here in the City of Atlanta, legislation takes two forms -- ordinances and resolutions. An ordinance establishes a permanent rule of government. Every official act of the Council, operating with force and effect of law, must be an ordinance. Ordinances must be read before full Council at two regular meetings. Resolutions express intent or support of various projects and enterprises or establish legislative policy of a general nature. Resolutions, unlike ordinances, need be read only once and can be introduced and adopted at the same meeting. In some cases, the Council is required by law to hold a public hearing and must notify the public about the hearing.

Government Oversight
In addition to legislation, the Atlanta City Council works hard to ensure that city government works for its citizens. Through the various Council Committees the council assesses various government programs and agencies. Each year, the Council is in charge of holding budget hearings in which the City’s budget, recommended by the Mayor, is strictly reviewed prior to being voted on by the Council.

 


As the Legislative Branch of City Government, Council's responsibilities are limited by the City Charter to establishing policy and enacting Laws. The day-to-day operation of the city is handled by the executive branch headed by the Mayor. Some helpful phone numbers are; Mayor's Office of Constituent Service (404) 330-6023, Public Works (404) 659-6757, Watershed Management (404) 658-6500 Planning (404) 330-6070 More phone numbers here

Council President    Ceasar C. Mitchell  Biography Page
55 Trinity Avenue, SW 30303 (404) 330-6052
District 1, Carla Smith                                            Biography Page                      
csmith@atlantaga.gov
55 Trinity Avenue, SW 30303 (404) 330-6039
District 2, Kwanza Hall                                           Biography Page                      
khall@atlantaga.gov
55 Trinity Avenue, SW 30303 (404) 330-6038
District 3, Ivory Lee Young, Jr.                              Biography Page                      
ilyoung@atlantaga.gov
55 Trinity Avenue, SW 30303 (404) 330-6046
District 4, Cleta Winslow                                        Biography Page                      
cwinslow@atlantaga.gov
55 Trinity Avenue, SW 30303 (404) 330-6047
District 5, Natalyn Mosby Archibong                      Biography Page                      
narchibong@atlantaga.gov
55 Trinity Avenue, SW 30303 (404) 330-6048
District 6, Alex Wan                                          Biography Page                      
awan@atlantaga.gov
55 Trinity Ave. SW 30303 (404) 330-6049
District 7, Howard Shook                                       Biography Page                      
hshook@atlantaga.gov
55 Trinity Ave. SW 30303 (404) 330-6050
District 8, Yolanda Adrean                                   Biography Page                      
yadrean@atlantaga.gov
55 Trinity Ave. SW 30303 (404) 330-6051
District 9, Felicia A. Moore                          Biography Page                      
fmoore@atlantaga.gov
55 Trinity Ave. SW 30303 (404) 330-6044
District 10, Clarence T. Martin                   Biography Page                      
cmartin@atlantaga.gov
55 Trinity Avenue, SW 30303 (404) 330-6055
District 11, Keisha Bottoms                                    Biography Page                      
kbottoms@atlantaga.gov
55 Trinity Ave. SW 30303 (404) 330-6054
District 12, Joyce Sheperd                              Biography Page
jmsheperd@atlantaga.gov
55 Trinity Avenue, SW 30303 (404) 330-6053
Post 1, Michael Julian Bond                                     Biography Page                      
mbond@atlantaga.gov
55 Trinity Avenue, SW 30303 (404) 330-6770
Post 2, Mary Norwood                                       Biography Page                      
mnorwood@atlantaga.gov
55 Trinity Avenue, SW 30303 (404) 330-6302
Post 3, Andre Dickens                                  Biography Page                      
adickens@atlantaga.gov
55 Trinity Avenue, SW

30303

(404) 330-6041

 


Questions or Comments for City Council
Damon Massenburg (dlmassenburg@atlantaga.gov)