Press Releases


Finance/Executive Committee to Hold Work Session Wednesday on Legislation to Create an Office of Independent Compliance

Post Date:02/05/2019 11:52 AM

ACC News Release Header

Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave. S.W.
Atlanta, GA 30303

Cathy Murray, External Affairs
Office of the Atlanta City Council President – Felicia A. Moore
Office: (404) 330-6052

February 5, 2019

Finance/Executive Committee to Hold Work Session Wednesday on Legislation to Create an Office of Independent Compliance

ATLANTA – The Atlanta City Council’s Finance/Executive Committee will hold a work session Wednesday, Feb. 6 to discuss legislation which would create the city’s first-ever Office of Independent Compliance.  

The legislation (19-O-1038), authored by Council President Felicia Moore, can be viewed here and its corresponding resolution (19-R-3089) to fund the office is here.  The ordinance was sponsored by 10 members of Council, with Council Member Jennifer Ide serving as the lead sponsor.

The work session will begin at 10 a.m. in Committee Room No. 1 at Atlanta City Hall, 55 Trinity Avenue, SW.

Atlanta City Council
The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Vacant; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

Council information, committee agendas and more may be found on the Atlanta City Council website here. Video archives of the council’s regularly scheduled meetings, committee meetings and work sessions may be found here.



Return to full list >>