Press Releases


Atlanta City Council Urges President Donald J. Trump and Members of the U.S. Congress to Immediately Re-Open the Federal Government

Post Date:01/22/2019 4:36 PM

ACC News Release Header

Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave., S.W.
Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Talia Moffitt
Public Information Officer – Council Communications
Office: (404) 546-1835
Mobile: (404) 326-6506


January 22, 2019

Atlanta City Council Urges President Donald J. Trump and Members of the U.S. Congress to Immediately Re-Open the Federal Government

ATLANTA—The Atlanta City Council is urging President Donald J. Trump and members of the U.S. Congress to immediately re-open the federal government.

At the Tuesday full council meeting, Council member Jennifer Ide introduced a resolution calling for the re-opening. The resolution notes that the shutdown affects the overall economic growth of the U.S. and calls for all back pay to be extended to government contractors affected by the shutdown. It was passed unanimously.

"The ongoing government shutdown has impacted lives across Atlanta and the Council District that I represent, District 6. From the airport to the CDC in my district, critical institutions of our city are operating at limited capacity,” Ide said. “As the Super Bowl approaches, Atlanta is being denied the opportunity to put its best foot forward as national attention focuses on the world's most televised event."

The City will soon welcome thousands of fans through the world’s busiest airport, Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport, as it hosts Super Bowl 53. The media recently reported that a record number of airport security screeners are calling out sick. The screeners are working unpaid amid the partial shutdown.

“This shutdown is hurting Atlanta residents, especially those who work for the federal government. And it creates a ripple effect that negatively impacts other residents and their families,” said Council member Matt Westmoreland, who co-sponsored the resolution. “The safety of our citizens, and the hundreds of thousands of visitors coming for the Super Bowl, is paramount. This shutdown needs to end right now.”

The resolution states that the Council supports a comprehensive immigration policy, but not at the expense of forcing essential federal employees to work without pay and others to be furloughed.

“Friday will be the second paycheck that government employees are missing. Just imagine not getting a paycheck and a month or two of not paying your mortgage, rent and bills,” Council President Felicia Moore said. “I just want to add my voice to the chorus and demand Washington get its act together, figure something out, get the government open and let’s get relief.”

The city of Atlanta is home to thousands of federal employees and contractors, as well as government facilities including the Richard B. Russell Federal Building, Sam Nunn Federal Center, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

The U.S. government has been partially shutdown since Dec. 22, 2018, making this the longest government shutdown in American history.


Atlanta City Council

The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: vacant; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

Council information, committee agendas and more may be found on the Atlanta City Council website here. Video archives of the council’s regularly scheduled meetings, committee meetings and work sessions may be found here.


Return to full list >>