Press Releases


Atlanta City Council Transportation Committee to Hold Renew Atlanta/TSPLOST Work Session

Post Date:01/09/2019 3:19 PM

ACC News Release Header

Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave., SW
Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Sandra L. McGill
Communications Specialist, Office of Communications
Office: (404) 546-1477
Mobile: (470) 698-4656

January 9, 2019

Atlanta City Council Transportation Committee to Hold Renew Atlanta/TSPLOST Work Session

ATLANTA—The Atlanta City Council’s Transportation Committee will hold a work session to hear from the Renew Atlanta/TSPLOST Program about three possible project funding scenarios associated with their re-baselining and prioritization efforts. The work session will occur Thursday, Jan. 10 from 9–11 a.m. in Committee Room 1 of Atlanta City Hall (55 Trinity Ave., S.W.).

The Renew Atlanta infrastructure bond program and TSPLOST, launched in 2015 and 2016, were created to address the more than $1 billion infrastructure backlog the City faced. When costs exceeded projected expenditures, prioritization and re-baselining measures were taken to get the program back on track. To learn more about these measures, visit the Renew Atlanta/TSPLOST Prioritization and Re-baselining website here.

To learn more about Renew Atlanta and TSPLOST, visit the Renew Atlanta/TSPLOST website here.

Atlanta City Council

 The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta: it acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: vacant; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

Council information, committee agendas and more may be found on the Atlanta City Council website here. Video archives of the council’s regularly scheduled meetings, committee meetings and work sessions may be found here.



Return to full list >>