Press Releases


Community Development/Human Services Committee to Hold Work Session with WorkSource Atlanta Tuesday, Nov. 20

Post Date:11/19/2018 11:46 AM

ACC News Release Header

Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave. S.W.
Atlanta, GA 30303

Talia Moffitt
Public Information Officer – Council Communications
(404) 546-1835 / (404) 326-6506

November 19, 2018

Community Development/Human Services Committee to Hold Work Session with WorkSource Atlanta Tuesday, Nov. 20

ATLANTA – The Atlanta City Council’s Community Development/Human Services Committee will hold a work session Tuesday, Nov. 20 with WorkSource Atlanta to review their governing structure, programs, and performance outcomes of federal grants they administer including:

  • Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Grant
  • TechHire
  • YouthBuild/AmeriCorps

The work session is open to the public and will be held from 10 a.m.-12 p.m. in Committee Room 1 at Atlanta City Hall, 55 Trinity Ave. SW.

Atlanta City Council

The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the council’s consideration.

The Atlanta City Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Felicia A. Moore; District 1: Carla Smith; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Ivory Lee Young; District 4: Cleta Winslow; District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong; District 6: Jennifer N. Ide; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Joyce M. Sheperd; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: Andre Dickens.

Council information, committee agendas and more may be found on the Atlanta City Council website here. Video archives of the council’s regularly scheduled meetings, committee meetings and work sessions may be found here.


Return to full list >>